Pantoufle de Dame

Lady Slippers for Presley

I started knitting when I was in college to ease the boredom between my classes.  My mother had always crafted and crocheted, but I wanted to be different.  After reviewing 3 different teach-yourself-to-knit books, I managed to make my first scarf and I was hooked. 

Knitting got me through my first year of law school.  It was the only thing that kept me from running away screaming after that first 3 hour final.  I would sit outside the room of my law school final and knit while I frantically tried to memorize some intricate aspect of the law.  The clicking of the needles together always calms my nerves and looking at the garment or gift that was magically taking form on my needles never ceases to amaze me.

About a week ago, I knitted up some baby booties as a gift for a friend’s soon-to-be-addition.  The pattern from Pruline is amazingly quick.

I didn’t deviate from the basic pattern, but I have found that when using worsted weight yarn in this pattern, the booties will be just the right size for a newborn to 3 month old.  Anything over or under worsted weight would require using any of the deviations or variations that people have developed on Ravelry.

Tonight was the first night that I got to do the bootie origami (folding and sewing the knitted pieces into the bootie form).   Somehow, these booties ended up being folded the same way.

Leave a Reply

