Making Bridal Gifts to Stop Marriage Fever

I love my friends and my happiness for each of their impending marriages is only compounding by the joy of making wedding gifts for them. However, that happiness can quickly turn into Marriage Fever if one thinks too much about the impending wedding.  In order to save Z’s sanity, I have been working my fingers to make gifts for my wonderful friends because as my grandfather used to say, “Idle hands are the devil’s playground.”

Erwin ~~

After wracking my brain for what to make for this wedding, I decided to try my hand at knitted lace.  I found the pattern Eloping on http://www.knitty.com and fell in love with the simplicity and elegance of the lace garter.  So, in addition to the X and O cufflinks that I had already made for Chuck, I made this garter from Blue Sky Alpacas Alpaca Silk (and had to make more for everyone else).

Erwin's knitted garter & two sets of cufflinks (XO & Polish zloty coins)

That was going to be the only handmade gift … but then Erwin mentioned that she wished that she could find some Polish coins to give her groom as she has a Polish heritage.  Plus, a request was made for a bridal shower fascinator.  I don’t have any good photos of the fascinator on the bride, but there was a string of beads the color of the bridal shower decorations that hung in a swag at the back.

Bridal Shower Fascinator with Polish coin

Candy ~~

Candy's Garter

Something Blue Garter for Candy and X O cufflinks for her beau

I had to miss this wedding due to the appendix surgery and Erwin’s bridal shower.  I really wanted to make something special for Candy and her beau. So, yet another garter with a different ribbon and some handmade X and O cufflinks for the groom.

I had Z ship these out to the bride and groom.  I got word before the wedding that they had received them and loved them. 🙂

Nedra ~~

I have known Nedra since we were 5 years old. She specifically asked for some more bath fizzies. I had originally made these for her Christmas present last year.  They weren’t perfect; I added too much water and a lot of the bath fizzies were misshapen. Yet, she loved the cucumber melon scented bath fizzies and wanted more!

Cucumber Melon scented, green apple colored bath fizzies

Her groom already had a handmade pair of cufflinks that I had been forgetting to give to him.  These were similar to the X & O cufflinks but were in his initials.

In addition, I decided to knit another bridal garter which matches the colors of the bride’s dress. The ribbons actually match the dress ribbons.  They already have a commercial garter that they will use for the garter toss, but everyone needs a few keepsakes from their wedding day.

A Wild Garter for my wild friend

2 thoughts on “Making Bridal Gifts to Stop Marriage Fever

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! : 2012 « Adventures in Futility and Knitting

  2. Pingback: FO: Eloping Garter Belt « Adventures in Futility and Knitting

Leave a Reply

