Organizing Double Pointed Knitting Needles

Ever since Z & I have started living together, I have been looking for a way to organize my double-pointed knitting needles.  I knew that I wanted something decorative but nothing too girly.  I had contemplated buying a test tube holder … but it just didn’t seem completely right.

Yesterday, I met Z and our friends at our local antique mall and I found the perfect organizational device … a vintage pipe holder.

Holding Sizes 1-9 Knitting Needles

I never thought that this would work, but it’s amazing! I can fit two sets of double-pointed needles in the holders until I get to size 8 and I still have an extra space.  My size 11 double-pointed knitting needles will not fit into one hole, but I think a size 10 would be perfect for the extra space.

Immediately after setting it up, the space already looks neater

I may insert my knitting needle tin into the middle of the pipe/dpns holder at a later date. Right now, I’m just marveling at this simple repurposing!

Edit: This is the final look … and I love it!

Final look with tin inside the pipe holder and scissors in the extra space

One thought on “Organizing Double Pointed Knitting Needles

Leave a Reply

