Happy New Year! : 2012

Happy New Year to everyone!!  I am not the type of person that makes New Year resolutions.  When I was in college, I would make a game of making the resolutions only to see how long it took to break them.  Yes, I may be an inherently lazy person.

Despite my unexpected bout of a cold on New Year’s Eve, I did try my hardest to make a cool skirt for the parties that I was unable to attend. Long ago, my mother gave me a sequined dress that she had only worn once.  Explaining the reason for this dress would require another much longer post.

Sequin dress in all of its glory

Bad view of the deep back V

I have never, ever, ever, ever worn this dress (other than as a joke for a moment).  I’m not 100% sure that this dress was intended to be worn by a women over the age of 18.  So I decided to get crafty and alter the dress into something more wearable like this.

Sequin Skirt

Ta-Da!!

I measured to see where I wanted the skirt to fall.  Using some left-over elastic from the wedding garters, I folded the fabric over to make a waistband and sewed the fabric into a hole where the elastic was inserted.  After the elastic was in place, I cut the excess sequin fabric (Tip: Do this over a trash can because sequins will go everywhere) and I was done.  Sadly, this skirt will have to wait for another party.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year! : 2012

Leave a Reply

