Valentines Day Recap

Ok, maybe I have different standards than other girls.  Quirky Valentines gift complete with puns make me the happiest girl in the world.  No gift of jewelry or flowers would make me feel like my guy understands me more than the gifts that Z finds.

I am not the type of person to begrudge anyone with presents (especially since I tend to go way overboard for my birthday) … but jewelry, roses/flowers, and candy are what everyone gives for Valentines Day.  I wish that someone had some originality.

How is that a meaningful gift when 50 other people are giving the same present to their loved one?  Exactly how much thought have these people put into their Valentines Gift?  Valentines Day is supposed to be a holiday of love, not mindlessly buying something stereotype just to give your loved one a present.

At this point, you are probably wondering what types of Valentines Day presents Z and I exchange.  A few years ago, I knitted a heart for Z which said “You stole my heart with our first kiss!” and he gave me a beanie baby flamingo!  (I really love flamingos!  Flamingos, giraffes, and tigers must always be seen at zoo visits.)

Knitted Heart ... Anatomically Correct

Last year, Z got a heart covered jar of pecans with a note that said “I’m Nuts About You!” and a DVD of Plan 9 From Outer Space.  Why those?  He loves pecans and loves Plan 9 … and I am nuts about him.   I got a new mixed cd that he had made me and a copy of a Massive Attack album that has special meaning to us.  (Plus, our traditional handmade cards!)

This year, was no different with a cross stitch card using pattern from andwabisabi on Etsy (He studied abroad in Austria and can speak a lil German), a working vintage Kodak Instamatic Camera, and a vintage typewriter tin.  All of the items (except the handmade card) were usable.  Z gave me a handmade card that made me laugh and smile, 2 robot bugs, and some chocolate eggs.  Plus, he decorated the apartment with red and pink streamers.  It was so much fun.

I love you cross stitched in German

2 thoughts on “Valentines Day Recap

  1. Awesome! 😀 I didn’t know you had that list of animals to check out at zoos first!

    I also need to follow this blog since I thought I was, but evidently wasn’t. :/

    • I don’t have to check the animals first, just before we leave the zoo … and sometimes we have to do a double view of the flamingos.

      Hit the Follow button on the right. I think if you do that, then you should start getting emails when I post new ones.

Leave a Reply

