Southern as Chocolate Gravy

While I was born and raised in the South, I only have a few mannerisms that scream Southern.  My family recipe for chocolate gravy is definitely one of them.

Bowl of Chocolate Gravy

When I was little, my maternal grandmother would make this dish for the family whenever it started to get chilly outside or just for me whenever I was sick.  She told me that she got the recipe from her mother, Rosella (or Rose Zella), and that when her father remarried after her mother’s death, she had to teach her step-mother how to make it.  My great-grandfather ate chocolate gravy every morning for breakfast in a big bowl with butter or poured over his buttermilk biscuits.

When I moved away for law school, I made my grandmother write down the recipe so that I could make it when I was homesick.  Everyone would make faces at me whenever I ate it wrapped up in a blanket on cold, snowy Fayetteville days.

Recently, I talked Z into trying it.  He was the first guy that I have dated that actually saw the tastiness of chocolate gravy [while he maintains that it should only be eaten over pancakes or biscuits].

Mmmmmmm

Chocolate Gravy

Ingredients for One Serving

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Hershey’s cocoa
  • 3 tablespoons flour

Mix the dry ingredients very well.  Press out any lumps of flour or cocoa. [My grandma demanded that you sift the ingredients for the best results.] Boil water until you have a rolling boil.  Slowly pour in the dry ingredients and stir until thick.

Enjoy over biscuits or in a large bowl with a teaspoon (or tablespoon if you are feeling decadent) of butter.

4 thoughts on “Southern as Chocolate Gravy

  1. I have never heard of chocolate gravy before! I usually think of gravy as either the greyish stuff some people put over biscuits or what you put on mashed potatoes, but never chocolate gravy. I may have to try this recipe once I’m not trying to lose weight!

  2. Growing up in the North with a Southern grandma, I just thought chocolate gravy was normal until I told friends about it and they all thought I was insane. But it’s too tasty to care!! Now that I live in AR, I love hearing about every family’s chocolate gravy legacy. I just taught David how to make it a few months ago… reluctantly. What if he messed it up? It’s kind of sacred. And, of course, he did “mess it up”. He declared that it’s his version of the recipe. Yeah, yeah. Whatever. 🙂

    • I felt the same way when I taught Z how to make it. It was so scary walking him through the process and seeing his raised eyebrows at the ingredient list (and that I used to eat it for breakfast). He actually made it perfectly, which was a huge relief because who really wants to eat “messed up” chocolate gravy? 😉

Leave a Reply

