I eloped!

Ready for a surprise?

Last Saturday, Z and I eloped.

Why? We eloped because we feared the very real possibility that I would become the Bridezilla of everyone’s nightmares.  His parents are moving to Florida at the end of the year and my parents don’t like to travel.  I feared the actuality of tons of people watching me walk anywhere let alone down the aisle.  We eloped because we saw our engaged friends go a little crazy with all of the details of a wedding.  We didn’t want that much stress.  We just wanted to be married to each other.

Where? Bernice Gardens in Little Rock

Now for some minor details:

I got my dress made specifically for me by Etsy seller Cherrypievintage based on this vintage dress from a different Etsy seller.

Such an amazing dress!

I made red paper roses for the bouquet and boutonniere using an online tutorial.

Very easy tutorial for DIY paper roses!

I knitted my garter belt.

Woo!

I couldn’t decide on a veil and even attempted to knit a veil.

Almost a knitted veil

My mom saved the day by bringing a veil with crystals.

I bought Bride and Groom Pez dispensers from Pez.com and ordered a small red velvet cake from Sweet Love.

Pinwheels, Pez, and Red Velvet

Bing, Bang, Boom — We were married with minimal fuss and only one minor Bridezilla moment (which thankfully only my parents saw).  I don’t think we have ever smiled or laughed that much in a very long time.

OMG! We are married!

11 thoughts on “I eloped!

    • Aww!! Thank you so much! I was really worried that the dress wouldn’t be just right but it fit like a glove and I don’t think that I have ever been that happy with a dress.

      Congrats on your engagement! I read the proposal story on your blog and teared up! It was sooo sweet!

  1. Your veil is lovely, but how cool would it have been for you to have knitted one! (What a great idea!) 🙂

    You look so happy. I’m with you: small weddings are the way to go (I think I had 15 people). The whole “happiest day of my life” fairy tale routine is silly. The rest of the marriage is when it starts getting really good. The day? Meh. The more pageantry, the more will go wrong!

    • I loved the idea of a knitted veil but this one didn’t match the color of the dress (The dress was white and the yarn was sort of off-white) and I didn’t have any time to buy new yarn.

  2. That’s utterly fabulous! All of it! Congratulations and best well wishes! I hope you have some sort of ‘congratulations’ get together so folks can hug you and give you stuff.

    • Thank you!! I think Z’s mom wanted to do a traditional ladies wedding/bridal shower after she gets back from Florida, but I am not sure exactly when that will be. You will definitely get an invitation though!

  3. Pingback: FO: Eloping Garter Belt « Adventures in Futility and Knitting

  4. Congrats! And I understand… we got married in our backyard after being engaged for a month. A few of our closest friends, some flowers, food, and our rings — and I’ve never looked back! 🙂 Your dress is beautiful and I love the flowers you made! The white and red combo is really stunning!
    Kenley

Leave a Reply

