Ode to the Old Glasses

Ordering new glasses is never something that I want to do. It requires spending time picking out the right frames that fit my face shape, spending time picking the right color to go with my coloring, and spending time deciding what specialities to get with the lenses. Most places close around when I would be leaving work which means that I have to spend annual or sick time to make an appointment to go shop for frames.

Picking the right frame is a lot like picking the right man to marry. These things need to make you feel attractive on your worst days. They need to compliment you whether you are wearing a suit or sweatpants. They must match your personality (or at least compliment it). If you pick the wrong frame, then you have to do it all over again until you find the right match.

Due to all of this, I have worn my present glasses for about 2-3 years. I haven’t needed a new pair of glasses because my doctor says that I still have 20-20 vision with the old prescription. I haven’t wanted a new pair because I was so in love with my frames. Did you know that Tiffany & Co makes frames? They sell them at Lenscrafters and I fell in love my old frames there. At the time, I was worried that I would never have anything from Tiffany & Co and I wanted to splurge on name brand glasses.

My old frames

My old frames

It’s been good years with my old glasses. They have gone with me from one job to present job, to hospital for the appendectomy, to married lady, to Disney, and to countless other events & memories. They have withstood my clumsiness and my ability to fall asleep in them. They are now loose, worn down, and ready for retirement.

Last week after I took a sick cat to the vet, I went to my optometry doctor’s office to look around. I decided on new frames and after much deliberation, I ordered them. Hopefully, these new glasses will live up to the glory and spirit of the old glasses.

One thought on “Ode to the Old Glasses

Leave a Reply

