FO: Inlay Markham Socks

About two years ago, I started making a sock with a complicated twist design from Knitty. It was so beautiful that I couldn’t wait to knit it up in the special yarn that a friend had given me for Christmas. At least I was excited … until I got confused on the twists and realized that I didn’t have enough yarn to finish both socks and that the yarn was discontinued (unable to buy new at stores). Somehow, I muddled through the first sock just as Z and I finished moving into our apartment on Markham. After much searching, I bought more yarn from a fellow Ravelry user and put the project aside.

One lonely, mocking sock - circa September 2011

One lonely, mocking sock – circa September 2011

Every time I finished a project, I would glance at the one mocking sock and the half ball of yarn. Every year, I would promise myself that I would finish the socks. Every time I would pass the project over in favor of something with less twists and more instance gratification (something that knits/crafts up within a day).

When I started packing up our apartment last weekend, I found the one finished sock with the remaining yarn. There was something poetic about finishing one sock when we moved into this apartment and finishing the other sock when we were moving out.

With gusto, I cast on the stitches for the small sock and began to knit. As I prepared for a confusing week of managing left and right twists, the second sock unfurled from my needles at a speed that would make Flash glance back. The twists didn’t seem that confusing now and the charted design flowed beautifully without the aid of frogging row after row.

In less than a week (and about two years), I finally had a matching pair of socks … which will now be full of memories from our time at this apartment. I had named these socks “my selfish socks” but after two years, I think these socks are something more than selfish.

Finally finished socks

Finally finished socks

Yarn: Simply Soft Shadows by Caron – Color – Soft Merino

Needles: Size 1, dpn

Ravelry Project Page: Inlay Markham Socks

 

2 thoughts on “FO: Inlay Markham Socks

  1. Pingback: WIP: Holla Holla & Pep in My Java | Adventures in Futility and Knitting

  2. There are advantages to knitting socks toe-up. For example, the sock can be tried on as you go, so the fit is perfect. If you are not sure you have enough yarn, you can knit both socks at the same time and stop when your yarn runs out.

Leave a Reply

