WIP: Holla Holla & Pep in My Java

After I finished the Inlay Markham socks, I thought that I would attempt to finish knitting some of my other projects. I frogged the beginning portion of the back of Holla Back Tank and started anew. For some reason, this second attempt looks much different from my first attempt. I think I had previously knitted an inch in stockinette stitch before the lace started. However, after reviewing the pattern, the lace portion should start as soon as you start the back. The wonders of picking up a project after a year in the project bags means that I have no clue what I was thinking when I changed the pattern like that.

Lace Back of my Holla Holla Tank

Lace Back of my Holla Holla Tank

I made it through the waist decreases when I ran out of yarn. My excitement was high when I went to the local yarn shop (LYS) in search of the bright yarn to finish the project. Alas, always buy more yarn than you need — because you never know when a yarn will be discontinued like the colorway Lily in Shibui Sock. Thank goodness for Ravelry! This is the second time that I have had to buy some stash yarn from a fellow crafter to finish a project.

To brighten my mood, I bought some variegated Shibui Sock yarn called Roppongi on sale and set to work on the Java Sock pattern from Knitty (for some moving relaxation and an early birthday present to myself). Every time I knit socks for myself, I always pick some yarn that is variegated. I’m not sure what that says about my style as a knitter or my fashion style, but I love how variegated yarn makes such intricate designs with the sock pattern. 

Always go Variegated - Pep in My Java Socks

Always go Variegated – Pep in My Java Socks

One thought on “WIP: Holla Holla & Pep in My Java

  1. Pingback: FO: Holla Holla Back Tank | Adventures in Futility and Knitting

Leave a Reply

