FO: Rhythm Week Socks

During the coldest parts of the winter (and honestly, during the warm days of summer), I crave the warmth of hand-knitted wool socks. Nothing beats the warmth and love your feet feel upon slipping into a pair while cuddling up with a cup of hot cocoa.

Rhythm Week Socks

Rhythm Week Socks

I’ve heard people complain about hand-knitted socks ranging from hatred to disgust with one of my favorite garments. Honestly, I think that these people may not have worn a properly knitted pair of socks.

Yes, the inside of most knitted socks has a bumpy, garter stitch pattern. However, the softer the yarn, the softer the bumps. Yes, hand-knitted socks can be thick, but if they are knitted tightly enough, they can be worn with any shoe.

Broadripple socks with my favorite pair of heels

Broadripple socks with my favorite pair of heels

Yes, hand-knitted socks can have a tendency to fall down, but elastic can be woven into the band if you desire socks that stay up without fail. The band can also be knitted with a smaller needle for a tighter fit.

Knitting socks properly could be called an art. I haven’t mastered the art, but with each sock that I knit, I understand a bit more and feel a bit warmer.

My latest sock art creation was supposed to take a weekend. It took one full week. However, they are warm and soft. I can’t wait to slip my feet into them tonight and sip hot cocoa.

Warm, warm socks

Warm, warm socks

My Ravelry Project Page:  Rhythm Week Socks

Yarn:  Jojoland Rhythm

Needles:  Size 4 dpns

Pattern:  Weekend Socks

Leave a Reply

