FO: Big Sister Medal

After finishing the pink earflap hat and booties set, I realized that they would be a perfect fit for a couple that is expecting their second little girl. I started to knit up a cute rattle when I remembered what it was like for me when I became a big sister. When you become a big sister at around three or four years old, it’s like you have lost your audience. All the cute things that you do become eclipsed by the new baby and the cute things that the new baby does. That’s when I decided that being a new big sister deserves a medal.

Finished and big sister friendly

Finished and big sister friendly

I’m not too proficient in children’s cartoons these days, but I hear that one of the children’s cartoon characters has a badge/medal and this particular little girl is happy that she can be like that character.

My Ravelry Project Page: Big Sister Medal

Pattern: Military Medal Deux

Needles: Size 2 in dpns and straight needles

Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas Alpacas Silk in White, Caron Simply Soft Solids in Plum Wine, Loops & Threads Impeccable Solids in Rogue, and random scrap yarn

Notions: Sticker with ribbon and pin clasp

Leave a Reply

